War Cry

I have a war cry and it is burning deep inside

Shall I release it, or at least live knowing that I tried?

I sit with a pen, wondering what words to say

Dare I even try, when I can’t even lift my head to pray?

Why can’t I speak the thoughts that are hurting me?

If they stay inside, I might cease to breathe

“Speak, speak!” In the night voices cry

“But the looks they’ll give…” I weakly reply

What I hear at night is the proof

As I hear my own voice declaring the truth

So with pen in hand, I finally relent

I know to whom this message must be sent

The paper crinkles when the ink flow finally ends

And a hot tear slips out as my prayer begins.

Photo credit: Pinterest

One thought on “War Cry

Leave a Reply

